Welcome to TaaffesCastle.com
Taaffes Bar Carlingford
Serving Ale and Wines from 1745

Everyone loves Taaffes Castle Carlingford, and here’s a few of our many reviews to prove it! Why not visit Taaffes and see for yourself!

“Cozy place for a pint!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Grab a table by the fireplace and put up your feet!
It was a damp day in March when we visited, and the glowing coal fireplace was just the ticket.We ordered our food at the bar and the waitress brought it to our table.
There was a game on, so getting service was a little slow, but you can’t be in a hurry in Ireland!

The food was very good – our group had burgers, soup, sandwiches, chicken, fries and all were found to be good. The town is neat too, even on a dreary day.

“Lovely pub with with great staff”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

17 of us arrived in this pub Sunday afternoon 4/5/14 and stayed till closing time.
Great atmosphere and banter between us and the bar staff who looked after us very well.
We all got something to eat through the day and the food was very good and well priced.
Everyone of us will be back, Great pub.

“Great pub with excellent staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely quaint historic pub where I spent an evening recently with friends.
The atmosphere was excellent and there was a great band playing.
I misplaced my purse, leaving it behind and one of the staff handed it in and kept it safely
for me which was gratefully appreciated.

“Very helpful and accommodating staff”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I was part of a group that celebrated a 30th birthday party in July 2012 in Taaffes.
Needless to say, we had a fantastic night. There was a member of staff on the night who was taking photos for their Facebook page.
We had a couple of group photos of us taken on the night which were then put onto the Facebook page. None of us at the time had thought of requesting copies of these photos.
We obviously had our own photos of the night but these were very good and
recently the birthday girl in question had mentioned her regret at not getting copies of these.
Their Facebook page has since changed and as a result the older photos were not on the new page.
I contacted Taaffes recently as a long shot asking would they have those old photos stored anywhere.After a bit of investigative work, It was arranged that I call out to Taaffes. When I called out, a lovely lady called siobhan had the laptop ready for me sitting in beside the warm fire and I was given permission to view relevant files, I must admit, with it being nearly 2 years since the photos were taken, I wasn’t too confident of coming across them. Just as I was about to give up hope, I came across the photos!!! Happiness all around! It was a random request and I could have been fobbed off very easily but my request was served by the very friendly and helpful staff at Taaffes. I would really recommend this place as the service is excellent. Thanks again

“Fantastic Bar”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We visited this bar for an afternoon drink during a cool, rainy day.
The place was very quiet with a very friendly bartender.It gave us, being American, a real sense of a pub in the country side of Ireland.I would definetly recommend anyone in the area, especially tourists, to take the time to visit Taaffes and have a drink.

“Best little pub in town! Great meals, good value, and Guinness!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Probably one of the best pub meals I’ve had! Pizza and cold beer was great on the summer day.Would really recommend trying the pizza. One pizza is fairly good size – probably enough for 1 person.Good value deal set on the pizza as well. Staff also very friendly as well as patrons. Very welcoming.

“Absolutely outstanding!!! Best craic, great food/service! A*****”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We were in Carlingford for its famous Oyster Festival.
The atmosphere was electric! Gorgeous seaside village in the south if Ireland.
It’s an absolute gem. There are lots of good restaurants and pubs but Taaffees Castle is really something special.
It’s situated in the main st but in the grounds of a 16th century castle.
There’s a gorgeous beer garden /courtyard. inside the pub its contemporary and Traditional.
From you walk in the ambiance welcomes you.
Staff friendly but not in pretentious way- all very genuine helpful and funny
(wicked senses of humour – had us on the floor!!).
There’s a disco upstairs but we didn’t go up as too much fun downstairs.
The food was great- good value too! To be fair most of Carlingford offers fair prices- good
thinking in the current climate.
My fiancé and I are already planning a return trip next weekend for Guinness Taaffes BBQ.
If you were looking an alternative wedding venue this place rocks! Plenty of history too.

“Tea, Coffee, Scones and Family Hospitality”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband, a direct descendant of the Taaffe family of Carlingford,
and I recently visited Taaffes Castle Bar early one morning on a trip from Antrim to Dublin.
Not only were the scones the best we had in our nearly two weeks in Ireland and Scotland,
the hospitality of Alan and Maureen was outstanding and made us feel special.
We even got a mini-tour and story about the old castle.
I can’t wait to go back someday with our grandchildren (or without so we can try out the pub some night).

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.